2006 Leelanau County Election Results

According to TV 7&4’s Leelanau County election results and the Record-Eagle’s Leelanau voting results, the Farmland Preservation proposal failed 62%-38%, but it appears that the 911 Public Safety Millage narrowly passed (by less than 100 votes).In regional races, David Palsrok defeated Dan Scripps for the 101st House District, Michelle McManus won her 2nd term in the 35th Senate District and the 4th Congressional District appears to have chosen Dave Camp over Mike Huckleberry.

Suttons Bay passed the Fire Millage but voted down the library millage for the second time. Suttons Bay voters also elected as trustees Steve Mentzer, Kara Petroskey & Karl Bahle. In Empire, Susan Carpenter won the race for president, Patricia Zoyhofski was elected clerk and Jennifer Williams, treasurer. Karen Baja won a two-year trustee term and David Filler, Linda Payment, and Ashlea Walter were elected to four-year trustee seats.

Fun Fact: Leelanau County’s 67.1% voter turnout was tops in the state. Unfun Fact: Our statewide turnout of 53% is a real kick in the teeth to everyone who has ever fought on the battlefield or off for our democracy. Check out County millage barely OK’d and Farmland measure soundly defeated from the Leelanau Enterprise. You can also see a cool regional Election Day photo gallery from the Record-Eagle and get more information about Michigan elections from Absolute Michigan.

Have any comments or thoughts on the elections? Post them below!